Live Recording

Brett - K A L I S I A

Dreaded Moderator
Feb 26, 2004
France
www.towerstudio.net
Hey guys,

I just learned a minute ago that two days from now I'll have to record a live gig of a band but I've never done that before and I'm quite worried about it. I hope to have enough ins in my gear for it, but since I know nothing about the mixing console there will be at my disposal, I'm wondering if I should use my preamps and send them line outs to the console or use some outs of the console (what kind ?) to get into the card. Obviously going to the console first would be more secure for the gig (if my computer dies, at least there will still be some sound for the audience !) but not for the live recording...
Does anyone here have any experience with that ? I'm quite in a hurry for this and under a bit of stress ! (aaaaargh !!!)
Thanks in advance !

Maybe you should rent a splitter snake and use some unused group outs only if needed. This way, you don't have bother that much about the mixing desk.

~BURNY~ said:
Maybe you should rent a splitter snake and use some unused group outs only if needed. This way, you don't have bother that much about the mixing desk.

Yeah, thats a good point, but you need a seperate Desk with direct outs per channel to control the input volumes of your recording gear. Think of it!
Over in digital means OVER and it sounds like THAT.

To do it properly you need splitters and mic pres, though I've done it before where I've just gone direct out of front of house desk into pro tools (Arch Enemy in Paris for example). Obviously, if you do it that way, you are usually post fader and at the mercy of the front of house guy, but its the cheapest way and you can be clever by splitting the things you need that he may be riding, like main vox into another channel and use that instead of his direct out and also gtr DI's so you can reamp/fix later.