Looking for good advice: Most common problems with 5150 amps?

Kromann

Doeds Groed & Floede
Aug 11, 2006
Denmark
Hello fellow forum members - it's been a long time since I started a thread - mostly been reading all the good stuff you guys come up with - but here goes:
I've finally decided to jump on the 5150 band wagon after many years with marshall gear so tonight I'm going to have look at an old Peavey 5150 212 combo (60w) and buy it if its in ok condition.

Since I have no first hand experience with 5150 amps I'm looking for good advice as to what I should look out for, any common problems with these amp, anything in particular i should check (other than just playing some riffs and hear if it sounds good - even though my sloppy playing will probably limit the sound severely...).

I can se on a picture sent to me from the seller that the sign on the back of the combo says "serial# 11743352" and also it says "MFG LOC-03" and after that "00328112/ACD02".

Seller has bought it used and has no idea when it is from or when/if the tubes have been replaced.

The price is less than half of what a new Peavey 6505 top costs here in Denmark.

I'm looking for all good advice on what I should be looking out for - any caveats, common problems, things you'd check if you were to buy it?

(I figured this post should be in the Equipment section - hope I was right)

Hope you can help me - any help will be greatly appreciated :headbang:

Hehe, i've been looking at that exact 5150 for some time now on dba.dk. But don't worry i bought another amp, so i won't snatch it right under your nose.

Only "problem" i see, is that they need to be turned up fairly loud to sound really good. So if you try it out with too little volume you might be disappointed. And on another note, i would also consider chopping it into a seperate head/cab solution.