looking to get this guitar sound

patrick1904

New Metal Member
Jul 29, 2007
ive been recording for a couple of months, mostly just practicing. trying different micing positions etc. but im looking to get this sound out of my recordings:

www.myspace.com/hopecon
www.myspace.com/riseandfall13
www.myspace.com/converge

will the fredman technique get me this sound? right now im running

Amps: 5150 / Mesa Boogie Mark III -boosted with a Bad Monkey
Cabs: Marshall JCM900 1960b / 1960a / Mesa Recto 4x12
Guitars: Gibson SG / ESP EC400 AT
Mic: Sennheiser E609 Silver / 2 SM57's soon!!!
Preamp: DBX 386
Interface: M-Audio Firewire Solo :erk:

it seems like everything i record is lacking the "balls" of the stuff ive heard on here. even after eq, c4, comp, etc its just not getting to the quality that some of you guys have. any advice and help would be GREATLY appriciated.

I can't speak to the second band, but the The Hope Conspiracy and Converge were both recorded by Kurt Ballou at Godcity Studio in Massachusetts.

Kurt is the guitarist in Converge, and also owns the studio. He has a large collection of vintage amplifiers, cabinets etc, you might want to check out the studio page for more on that, but I'm relatively sure he uses the Royer 121 or 122 on guitar amplifiers very often.

http://members.aol.com/godcity/

I can't speak to the second band, but the The Hope Conspiracy and Converge were both recorded by Kurt Ballou at Godcity Studio in Massachusetts.

Kurt is the guitarist in Converge, and also owns the studio. He has a large collection of vintage amplifiers, cabinets etc, you might want to check out the studio page for more on that, but I'm relatively sure he uses the Royer 121 or 122 on guitar amplifiers very often.

http://members.aol.com/godcity/