Lyric Writing Tips

Fortvivlaan

New Metal Member
Oct 30, 2010
Canada
Hey guys, I'm relatively new here; and I'm a Black Metal musician. I play drums, but I've come a far way in my vocals (I used to sing Death Metal), and I'm learning guitar too.

But one thing I'm NOT that good at, is WRITING lyrics. I can come up with words easy to keep a topic going, but getting started with formatting and stuff is where I have no idea.

I know most songs have a chorus, a bridge, and an outro; but with BM song structure is almost completely thrown out the window.

But even that being said, it's still important to know. So if anyone could give me a run through, or some general tips/guides that'd be great.

Write about the red fluid of life flowing down your arms and how the sweet blade dives deep inside.

Owait, that's what Eternal Tears of Sorrow does.

You SANG death metal? I had no idea anyone could SING in death metal :p

But for realz, with black metal especially, you can't just make up some bullshit lyrics like in most metal genres. Most metal genres, you can just make random lines that don't make that much sense but sound really angry/evil and they will sell. Or, if you're writing metalcore, write about how broken your heart is and how much you miss your imaginary girlfriend.

Um, personally, I don't listen to a TON of black metal, but I am a writer by trade and a vocalist for fun, lol, so what little skill I have at vocals I think I make up for in my lyrics.

I really enjoy lyrics that tell stories. You don't have to strictly adhere to telling stories, but essentially, try and think of a stereotypical fantasy/medieval-ish story where something dark and depressing happens and write about it in a very ambiguous fashion.

Those are just some songs that you can write. A whole album of the same type of lyrics would probably get old rather quickly. Try mixing it up a bit with songs that make you sound like you're a satanist who burns down churches. That's very black metal!