Manually Tempo Mapping in ProTools

darthjujuu

Nov 17, 2008
Boston
www.myspace.com
Currently I'm switching from Reaper to PT, and one of my favorite things to do in reaper was tempo map/quantize a drummer that could not play to a click for the life of him...or, if he was having such a difficult time playing to the click and constantly fluctuating speeds, that i figure itt'l be less time consuming for me to just tempo map/warp him to grid.

i'm CERTAIN that this is faster/easier in PT, i'm just a total noob in digi-land.

chonchball mentioned this earlier this summer, and i figured instead of resurrecting the thread i'd just start a new one:

"for complex songs, record everyone together and get the FEEL of the song. Then use identify beat on every measure. You'll see that it will fluctuate a lot. After you have the whole song analyzed, change your tracks from SAMPLES to TICKS and use EDIT > SEPARATE ON GRID @ 16 notes with no trigger pad. Now change each SECTION to the moderate tempo of the part. Now you have your click track to TRACK to that preserves the feel of the song but makes it more metronimically acceptable. Go back and use the edited guitar track as your scratch guitar in the drummer's cue mix, and start tracking the real drums. After this process, beat detect the song and get it all into place nicely. Yes it's long, yes it's tedious,but you won't run into everyone saying "no that's too fast, no that's too slow"."

does anybody else employ this method? the samples/ticks thing is originally what i was poking around for in search, to see what you guys generally do and why. a more in depth description of the above paragraph ^ would be undoubtedly invaluable to everyone on here. tempo mapping is critical for me, as i record lots of shitty bands....haha.

I've done it. The way i do it:

- loop playback and find a 2 bar section.
- CMD + I and slecet the right time sig and stuff.
- keep doing it until you reach the end.