mastering for a *poor* newb?

trey85stang

Aug 25, 2007
If I were to record a decent sounding demo of 4-5 songs on my own. What would be the cheapest way to get a decent mastered track? Im also a total mastering newb and I really dont even know wth mastering consists of.

Im just looking for something to make it sound ok across car stereos as well as cheap headphones and cheap computer speakers.

Any tips ideas of software to look into? AMS has wwavelab for like $50 would this be a good choice? http://www.americanmusical.com/item--i-STE-WLABESS.html Ive also read there are a few voxengo plugins that are good for mastering but they require more knowledge to use.. which I dont have?

edit: I currently use Cubase SX3 on windows, but I plan on switching to logic express when I purchase a macbook in a a month or two. So I would like something that can be used on both os's.

Izotope Ozone.

Thats is probably the cheapest/easiest way to do it yourself... it has tons of plugin presets to get you started...

It might be a little more then I want to spend.. but with presets and all I should be able to load up some unmastered wav or tracks and process them and be done with it? Or is it more involved then that?

"CD Master with Widening" preset from izotope Ozone 3 :D
nah kidding , you should try finding some tutorials that will expllain limiters, rms/loudness, multiband compression, clipping, some eq.
also you can find some plugs free here http://www.gersic.com/plugins/ before spending any money, see what you like, what works best for you and then buy with awerness.

Ibut with presets and all I should be able to load up some unmastered wav or tracks and process them and be done with it?

No, the presets are just there to help. There´s no way for a 'mastering preset' work on different mixes. anyway, I suggest you to read Ozone´s manual even if you don´t like the program.

...oh, and no, mastering is not easy. not easy at all.