Mastering in Pro Tools 8

theNeologist

Apr 3, 2009
So at some point i am planning on mastering some songs and I was wondering the best way to go about it. I'm still rather new to mixing/mastering, but I was wondering the best way to go about it in Pro Tools.

Would applying the mastering plugins and such to the master fader in the song session be the same as taking the final mixdown and mastering that seperately? Or is there an advantage to bouncing the final session to a single track, then having just a mastering session with that single track?

Assuming the latter is the best way to go, do you Pro Tools users just master a single audio track, or do you send the track to a master fader and master that.

Prior to me using Pro Tools I used Adobe Audition 3, and I know there you could just load the final mixdown .wav into the Edit view and master that....but Pro Tools is set up a little differently.

All advice is greatly appreciated! :kickass:

Ok cool....so you recommend bypassing Pro Tools altogether for mastering?? I was looking at Izotope Izone mastering software before....but again...due to my ignorance with mastering wasn't sure if it was necessary...effective....etc.

Any other recommendations for mastering software? I'll have to look into waveburner

i only do it because i dont have to render in real time for mastering this way.. kinda handy when you need to do touch ups.

If i did it in tools, id bounce, then open a new session and import the mixdown and master in a new session