Mastering Mixes with Vocals

Sam Bottner

Jul 18, 2010
Chicago
First off, sorry if there was already a thread about this, I searched and couldn't find anything.

I'm a guitarist so I'm used to mixing and mastering instrumental stuff. My masters were at a volume I was happy with, but my band just recorded vocals for one of our songs and I'm having a really hard time getting the track to the same level in the mastering stage without having the vocals distort. Is there anything I should be doing in the mixing stage to remedy this? I have to bring the volume down substantially before it's not clipping.

So, you're trying to take a finished mastered track and add raw un-processed vocals on top and trying to get it to balance? If I'm understanding what you're saying correctly, that's not going to work. Getting vocals to sound good in a mix is just as time consuming as mixing bass, drums, guitars, etc. If you want the vocals to "fit", you'll need to re-mix everything to include the vocals and then remaster to "glue" everything together. Remember, a master is usually louder due to compression, limiting, clipping, etc. If you can't go back and do the mixing process all over again, try compressing the vox really hard, limit and clip to get volume... and of course EQ to taste. But at the end of the day, it's NOT going to sound good taking this lazy way out. You really do need to take all the raw files and re-mix everything together so it's a properly balanced mix, and then master it again. Trying to add something on top of an already mastered track just doesn't sound good.

no, i had mastered the instrumental version before but of course im not trying to put vocals over the mastered track. I'm thinking I'm just gonna have to cut some high mids out of the guitars, but it's a shame because they were sounding good haha

Er... maybe your vocals are just too loud?? If their distorting in the mastering stage, it sounds like an amplitude issue rather than a frequency one.