Melodic death metal band - what do you think?

MetalMan_99

Nov 23, 2007
Kent, UK
Hey guys
I found this forum a few months back and have learned a huge amount from it. I've been recording in a small home studio for about 4 years now but my results have significantly improved since I came across this forum!
This is the melodeath band I'm in - Silent Descent - and I've almost finished recording the album. Any feedback on the recording would be great so I can make improvements. Here's one of the songs off it:

http://www.callahan.plus.com/silentdescent/Living_In_False_Eternity_192kbps.mp3

Guitars are EMGs double tracked through a 6505, V30s, single SM57 on cab
Drums are Slate samples for kick and snare, chimaira tom samples and EZdrummer for cymbals
Vocals are all though an SM57

Thanks
Tom

I like the guitar sound.

Overall production is quite good.

Voices and keyboards/samples are emphasized too much IMO... and that permanent effect on the non-clean vocals can be ok for some parts occasionally but throughout the entire song it just bugs me.

I'd give a bit more importance to bass/grs/drums as it is now. Right now they sound just like a "backing track" to vocals/keyboards/samples.

keyboards/samples are emphasized too much IMO
Agreed. It pushes the drums and guitar back and makes them sound distant. By bringing them down I think everything else will stand up much more.

Have you just put a doubler on the vocals are the start or double tracked them?
Vocals effects are defiantly cool but could possibly be abit over done on this track.
Sounds like you have down tuned his voice in some parts as well. Almost sounds a little bad, esp in the outro / bridge.. like he can't get that low so you downtune it, quite artificial which IMO for death metal is abit :S

The drums sound nice, guess thats a given when you program them!
The guitar is defiantly lost sometimes behind the synth.