Metalcore/Screamo/I dunno Mix - Help Appreciated!

MatrixClaw

May 22, 2010
Mesa, AZ
Hey guys,

I'm new to recording (been doing it by myself for a while, but never really any vocals), and a friend's band asked if I could do some recordings of their band. I figured this would be a good learning experience and improve my mixing skills.

Now, the instruments, I think I've got them sounding pretty good. Hell, even the screaming I'm happy with, but once I add in the singing, the mix just falls apart IMO. The singing has been massively AutoTuned, he was WAY off on some parts, but we tracked singing on 2 days, 4 hours a piece and he still couldn't get anything halfway decent (and there's only 3 singing parts!!) - So I had to fix it. Here's what I have on the instruments:

Drums: SSD Metal Hybrid
Guitars: Nick Crowe 8505
Bass 1: SansAmp Bass DI
Bass 2: NoAmp

I tried reamping the guitars yesterday on my Framus Cobra and Splawn Nitro, but the Nitro's voicing cut like a knife through the Cobra and just didn't fit the mix as well as I thought it would. Going to try reamping just through the Cobra today because though I like the 8505's sound, it's just not beefy enough IMO. I also couldn't seem to get the bass to fit right at the end without just boosting the volume, so I ended up just duplicating the two bass tracks at the end so you could hear them a bit better.

Anyway, here's the latest mix I'm working with:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4018922/Break It - 7.mp3

I think the mix is sounding decent now, but I'm just having trouble getting everything to sit right once the singing comes in :( The screaming seems to cut just fine if I turn it down to be at the right levels (vocals are a bit high right now), but then if I turn the singing down, it just gets eaten by everything else.

*edit*
Newer mix: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4018922/Break It.mp3

Changed guitars to POD Farm and Bass 2 to POD Farm as well.