Mic Advise wanted....

Coraje

New Metal Member
Sep 15, 2004
I've been using my AKG C4000 for recording my vocals for the last 2 years and it all went nicely before someone stole it from me(it was inside my car, Stereo also disappeared :cry: )

The thing is i'm on a low budget right now, but I need to buy a good vocal mic under the US$300 level. Which one would you buy if this was your case???

I've heard great things about the Studio Projects mics, as well as Rode mics. Depending on the type of music and vocals you're doing, a Shure SM7 might suit you very well. I just got one and absolutely love it.

Yeah.. it's so different from time to time. I usually don't like the Rode mics that much. I have a couple but I seldom use them. I'm currently producing an album where the drummer is also singing and it's all played live. The Rode NT-3 was just perfect for it in that situation and in every other regard although I have much more expensive mics to choose from, this was just perfect at this particular time.

I usually find the Rode mics a bit brittle and lack of body/fullness. A colleague just switched his Rode NT2 for an ADK A51 mic.. like 100$ and it sounded way better for the stuff he did... so basically, there's not really a wrong choice.. just what's more appropriate at the time.

Rode, ADK, Studio Projects, AKG.. these are usually good choices.

My top no-no mics are MXL and TSM.

Hi Plec!

I've never tried the MXL. My local dealer has them. You say they are crap?
I was locking for some additional small diaphragm. condensors for Hihat, Ride and so on.
(I normally borrowed some mics when I record drum)