Mic amp recording not sounding good

teokouts

New Metal Member
Sep 14, 2014
Hello friends. My name is Teo. I'm a rookie home studio producer for metalcore and this is my first thread here. So please be gentle :lol: To begin with I have a Peavey Vypyr VIP 2 for amp and I like its sound very much. So I got myself a Shure SM57 in order to record the amp. The problem is that the sound I am getting is a bit muddy and not in your face sound I was hoping for. I read a lot of post and tutorials on how to mic an amp and placed the mic on axis just a bit out of the cone. But the results where not as I was hoping for. I mean I managed to get the sound I wanted with vst plugins but wanted to record my guitars with the amp and mic so I won't have the digitalness that vsts are giving. Any advice guys because I don't know if it is my mic placment or the amp that is just not good enough for this purpose. And thank you very much for reading my post.

Does it sound the way you want in the room? You cant take an amp that sounds like shit in the room and throw up a 57 and it be good. Source needs to be good first. In all fairness (some will disagree) modern in the box amp sims are pretty great nowadays, unless you have a pretty stellar setup it will be tough to beat what you will be able to accomplish in the box. That being said a good amp, good guitar, with a good player and signal chain can sound "better/realistic".

You can get great results with plugins, so don't think that using a real amp for the sake of using a real amp is going to solve any problems. If what you're getting with a plugin sounds better than your amp, then use the plugin. But all that being said, where is the mic positioned on the speaker?

The mic is posinionted just a bit left of the cone. I know the room does matter a lot, but when I play with the same settings it sounds pretty good.