Mixing live compared to studio?

æôη

New Metal Member
Apr 11, 2010
Hello there. I hope this is the right section :err:

Someone asked me to mix live but I have absolutely no experience in live mixing. I do -however- have a few years of studio mixing under my belt.

I figure it's a completely different beast to mix live so are there any general tips you guys can give me? Any rule of thumbs, any no-goes etc?

I know it's dependant on the equipment, room but any hints and input would be highly appreciated. I told him that I have no experience but they still want me there.

My main concern is EQ and compression, do you guys LP/HP a lot?
What about guitars, boost more mids than usual?

Thanks in advance!

Oh btw, I'll get details on the equipment in a few days.
The style I'll have to mix is brutal death, grind/death. Setup is nothing out of the ordinary, 2 guitars, bass, mic'd drums, 1 vox.

Hopefully they ring out the PA in the place before hand.

Get the band to keep the stage volume as low as possible if you have monitors.

Give them as much as you can in the monitors without feedback.

If they have a 31 band EQ use it to pull out the feeding back frequencies, if they don't hopefully the board has a parametric you can kill that frequency with. Just run it Post fader if it allows you to (some old boards don't)

Watch for high frequency and low frequency feedback. BOTH are horrible

If you are micing the guitars get the mic as close to the cab as humanly possible. Make sure the guitarists have enough mids in their tone to cut through the mix.

Watch the high end on the bass guitars

If you are micing the FULL KIT. Center your kick around 80hz Bass guitar around 100. DON'T GO ANY LOWER THEN 70HZ or the PA will fart out!

If the singer is a screamer, be sire he is screaming during sound check. If hes not MAKE HIM!

The trim control is your friend! :p

As HC said, DONT ADD EQ, only Subtract where needed. HIGH PASS EVERYTHING Except kick at Bass at around 100 - 200HZ