Musical rut (writers block)

Jul 16, 2008
So lately I've been really striking out when it comes to composing. I'm without a full band and I'm trying to write all on my own with midi drums, something I've never done before. Anybody have any tips or workflow suggestions for a guy used to jamming out a song with other people involved.

I would suggest the immersion music method, but you need one other person haha although not with you,

rules are simple, you have 12 hours to write 20 songs, you and someone do it separatly on the same day then meet and share your work, preferably this will be a good friend cause then you wont worry about what music you write and record, and what you think you should be doing etc.

here is a link to their site, where its all explained properly
http://www.ics-hub.org/

Cool idea, I'm sure i could do something like this on my own. It makes sense, cause i do think way too much about things and i need to just keep at it no matter what. Thanks man.

just mess around with different chord structures and stuff. That usually what gets me out of my rut. Or dont play for a few days, maybe listen to a different genre of music. Really the best remedy is to get away from it for a while then come back strong

Definitely listen to music completely outside of your normal listening comfort zone. Once you've immersed yourself in a few different styles, try and study the theory that went behind the writing of those songs by writing in that style. Each time I've done this I come away with new techniques and ideas that I could easily incorporate into your own ideas. It's also a good way to learn new production techniques.