How do you get over writers block?

Mar 16, 2010
Hi guys.

Up until last year i was part of a band. we got a taste of success and worked our asses off to get as far as we did. i wont mention who we were etc etc.

anyways. i've recently started trying to write some new music but i'm finding it extremely hard going. i'm not sure if its because i've been playing the same stuff over and over for the past 5 years but it's not happening for me at the moment.

Whats your way of getting over writers block? i've been putting on a few cd's trying to get some inspiration. I can here what i want to play in my head but when it comes to recording it or even playing it on guitar it doesn't happen.

any suggestions?

Hmm.. I usually like to either A. Listen to lots of music I enjoy, that generally gets me in a writing mood or B. Try to do some things in life that I REALLY enjoy or are exciting. That's generally what helps me. Writing for me is an emotional experience *GAYYY :p* so I have to be in the right mindset :)

I listen to music I like or want to write similar to and work out the guitar parts.

More often than not I end up writing a riff or two after adapting something beyond all recognition.

Something I like to do and is good as a writer to practice is to write one riff that you really think stands on its own and is very strong. Take that riff and write riffs/song around it so that riff now becomes a passage
and almost the theme to your song. basically you're just basing the song off that riff

I write with other people whenever I can. Also writing in unfamiliar places, even if it's someone elses house or bedroom. It also helps loads to be slightly ill.

^^this....

my typical scenario:
1. we get to my/my friend's house
2.drink
3.drink
3.drink
4.vomit
5.say that typical sentence "I'll never drink again in my life!"
6. ...drink
7. destroy something (typically a table or bet gets wracked by a accident... sh*t like this always happens)
8. start philosophical debate
9. drink