Midi drum programming help

DevilJaw

Studio Junkie
Sep 5, 2007
Arizona, USA
hey guys,

so im just learning the world of midi programming, i just got a korg padkontrol and addictive drums program, working great so far, still building up my working skills with it.

but in the mean time, i have been making simple midi drum tracks for some song ideas and what not, but the problem as you may know is the velocity of the notes and just general midi note placement, i'm learning but i want to see whats really possible with it this stuff.

so here's where you all come in, i got a little midi drum track im playing around with and i want some help with it, if there are suggestions or tips to help make it better (song writing or technical), i would just like to keep the same feel of the track.

here is the file:

http://www.frontiernet.net/~jtsinnie/MIDI/Unbalanced II-DRUMS.mid

Its at 90bpm all the way through, no changes. also, there are empty spaces that are occupied by other instruments btw.

i used guitar pro 5, so its just using the general midi drum map.

if anyone would like to tweak this, feel free, i plan to plug this into addictive drums and see how it goes.

if needed also, here is the addictive drums key map:

http://www.frontiernet.net/~jtsinnie/MIDI/Addictive Drums Keymap.pdf

but have a go at it, rearrange it or do whatever you need to do to make these drums sound good.

i'll finish this song and record it and post it up when its done, i just need some drums, :)

but if anyone needs any help with anything let me know, i'm always willing to help out where i can. :worship:

I am by no means that good at it. I'm still learning too.

But generally this is what I do.

Kick - Almost always at 127 (MAX)

Snare - Almost always at 127
Snare(Blast Beat) Go between 100-110 aswell as shifting slightly out've time
Snare (build ups) go like 90 95 100 115 120 127 127