My humble version of Hope Leaves

Gutter

New Metal Member
Feb 5, 2004
Calgary, Canada
Hi everybody. I recently started playing around with my room mates recording equipment and thought I would share. The first thing I recorded, just to get a handle on how the equipment worked, was a punk song I wrote an eternity ago. With my new found confidence after the simplicity of that project (I'm not sure why I was so pleased with myself, it sounds like shit! :D ) I decided I was up for re-creating a track off of one of the cleanest sounding albums I have ever heard, Damnation. Naturally, I picked my favorite track from it, Hope Leaves. Being so new to the role of engineer while recording, the results weren't super professional, but all in all I'm fairly pleased. I ran out of tracks by the end of it. And I messed up when routing effects and as a result I wasn't able to use everything I intended to in the final mix (I was hoping to be able to compress the shit out of the guitars to his my shitty playing, but it was not to be). It was recorded on an old Roland VS-840. Drums are courtesy of a Boss DR-770 drum machine. You can get the track HERE. Obviously enough it is the track titled "Hope Leaves". The track titled "Trust" is the old punk rock tune I mentioned earlier. Anyway, I hope you dig it. If anyone from the band is listening I would love to hear from you. Cheers! :headbang:

Vocal's aren't TERRIBLE, I don't think, but they could definitely use some work, and aren't very clear-sounding at all. For the rest, I like it, great song to begin with, etc.

Some of the vocals werent bad at all...other parts were out of key and whatnot...but overall not a bad job. The instrumentation sounded fine too...except for the effects were different...but hey, thats the beauty of interpretation.

I give you credit for trying to sing that song... the vocal line is very odd, hard to really nail. Some parts were way off, like "I'd never notice", but overall not too bad.