NEED HELP WITH MULTITRACK DRUM RECORDING!!

southwellweb

New Metal Member
Sep 27, 2007
I am fairly new to production and have set up a small home studio, i just wanted to know what is the cheapest way to get around 8 tracks of separate audio recording at one time. I have looked for mixing desks with multiple group outputs but they are way more than what i can afford. Are there any soundcrads you can connect multiple XLR cables to and record each input onto a separate track?????

Thanks

presonus firepod ($400 usd) is about the best cheap deal around right now...that connects via firewire, and gives you 8 inputs

+1
PRESONUS FIREPOD

This is something I looked at when I was browsing for an audio interface for multi-tracking. When I was jamming with the band a couple years ago we got an M-Audio 1814 but I wouldn't recommend those because the 2 front mic-pre's are known to break down fairly quickly, but I've only had experience with 1 unit and have only read from other users that their mic pre's went out as well.
I hope this is of any help to you man, it was the first one I came across but it should steer you in the right direction on your search for multitrack interfacing.

ROCKIN LIKE DOKKEN:headbang:

if you look on MF's site, they have a whole section for usb and firewire powered recording hardware now (for multitracking like that, you'll need firewire) which offers a lot of easy/affordable options

the firepod is the only one i've personally owned and used tho

it's a shame such products weren't so prevalent 4-5 years ago when i was first getting into recording...all those headaches running a cheap mackie mixer into the mic in of my laptop :puke:

just to let you in on a little secret...well, maybe not a secret, but a great tip:

if you plan on using 8 channels to track drums, you'll want more than 8 total inputs. if you're asking "why?"....it's because you'll want to get a scratch track of the guitar, if not also the bass while tracking drums