needs life. Advice please

tomrip

Sep 25, 2011
http://soundcloud.com/tomrip/needs-life

Ok all. I will start off that i have played around with amp sims, but would be ok beign called a complete noob. here is what i have. the above track is quad tracked with guitars, and a bass track done with my guitar and octave sim. for my guitar i have a les paul, and emg 81 85 pickups. this plugs directly into my presonus firepod. For signal chain i have a tse 808 with drive on 0, volume at 10 and tone in the 1 o'clock position. the next thing in line is the tse xgo b3. here is the settings i have for that.
power tubes 6l6
red channel mod checked
bias -51
input 5
output 9
pre gain 5
low 6
mid 4
high 6
post gain 4
low end 5
presence 4

impulses
sneap -1 1 inch ala sneap pic.wav

the tracks ar l and r at 80% pan
and l and right at 100% PAN

the drums are xln
For me i think this sound has a good tone to it. i write in the style of breaking Benjamin and three days grace. I am looking for a similar sound, but i don't want to just copy their sounds. I am wondering what effects i should add to guitar tracks and main to bring this to life. is eq and compressign ion every track or just the main, do i need a reverb for this style of music. Do i master in reaper, or use another program. does reaper have every thing i need built in to master a track, or do i need another program. I hear your guys recordings, and it blows me away. i want to learn to do the same for myself. I appreciate any advice you give me.
This is off topic , but i use line 6 for effects only, are there free vst that can sound lie line 6 effects, im looking for good delay as well a sweeping phaser, chorus and all that good stuff. thanks again guys. tom

Welcome to the forums man. :wave:First of all dont quadtrack the guitars... sure it'll sound fat by itself but it takes up so much space in the mix and you'll have to tweak it forever to get it sounding right. Double tracked guitars are plenty enough.