New song, melodic + thrash + something(soloC/8505/s2.0)

exzem

May 4, 2009
Sweden
Hello everyone,

Since this is my first post i want to start by saying thanks to everybody posting here, I've been reading this forum for a while and learning alot.
I've only been into recording for like 8 months now so I'm not a pro by any means :), anyway here is a song I wrote a couple of days ago.

The guitars are soloC + 8505, drums s2.0 with replaced kick. The song is mixed mainly through headphones since I haven't bought any decent pair of monitors yet, so maybe it sounds weird.
Any comments regarding the mix or the song itself are much appreciated.

ver 2:
http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/1063820/ORIENTY2.mp3
old:
http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/1063820/ORIENTY.mp3

Thanks

Sounds nice, really like the drums, just listening on computer speakers. The guitars are a bit loud and a bit honky maybe, some kind of upper mid harsh frequency in there that could be tweaked a bit. Good job!

Glad you liked it,
yeah your probably right about the guitars being too loud, will look into that tomorrow. For the drums: I didn't tweek them in superior so can't give you a preset unfortunately.

The snare had a compressor with attack 10ms release 150ms 3.5 ratio, 30% plate reverb and sent to a bus with hall reverb.
The toms have about the same compression + sent to a bus doing some parallel compression.

Here is the EQ curve for toms+snare:

toms%2Bsnare.jpg

I used the 14" Ludwig black beauty, the output from the top mic is mixed around 5 db higher than the bottom mic. Compression, eq and verb is around the same for both top and bottom mic. Nope did all mixing outside superior sent to seperate channels in cubase.

wow man, that's sounds really good. excellent work.

did you use a DI box (or POD) for guitar straight into interface pre?

im trying to achieve a guitar sound like this and have not purchased a DI or interface quite yet.