Newbie needs feedback/advice.

dill_the_devil

OneMetal.com Music Editor
Hey guys! I'm a complete newbie to any sort of recording, but recently I've been fed up with coming up with riffs and having no one to play them with, so I wanted to record something down. My resources are pretty limited, as I'm young and poor, but I managed to get hold of a few things to help. My gear is thus :

- Maverick X-1 guitar
- Adobe Audition v1.1
- Line6 GuitarPort
- Leafdrums v2.1 drum sequencing software

And, that's pretty much it. I've been fooling around with the stuff for a few weeks now, but can't really seem to get a decent sound together. Here's my latest effort :

http://www.geocities.com/philwhitehouse/Dill-demo2-heavy.mp3

I was wondering what advice you guys could give to get this sounding a bit better. Feedback on the riffs would be cool too, naff as they are!

I'm not really familiar with the equipment you're using, but for starters I suggest cutting down the reverb on the guitars a tad. Also you can double them to get a tougher sound.

You might want to randomize the midi notes here and there on the drums so they are less redundant and get a more human feel.

Use an equalizer on the bass drums to get more click (metal!). Find a high frequency that sounds good and boost it a little with a small Q setting (but a higher Q number). Cut that frequency a bit on the rest of the instruments and the bass drums will stand out a little.

I don't think there's any bass guitar on that clip, but I could be wrong--my speakers here suck. Hopefully you have a pitch shifter if you don't have a bass guitar and you can just lower the pitch of your guitar an octave and that'll give you something. It won't sound nearly as good as a real bass, but at least there will be something there. I've done at least one mix with a guitar turned bass and it actually sounded pretty decent, and that's all you're really looking for right now.