Noob mixes his band's album ITT

anotherpaul

Sep 17, 2012
Moscow, Russia
Hi, everyone!
Firstly, I can't express how helpful and informative these forums are. I've been lurking for quite some time, but still I'm relatively new here, so don't go harsh on me, please.

The thing is, my band has recorded an album. I've done the tracking myself at our rehearsal place (except the drums - they were tracked in a proper studio).
My purpose was and is to learn as much as possible from the process, and to put as much of my own creativity into the record as possible, so now i'm mixing it myself. However, since I am a complete noob (have only done several home-made demos before), any feedback and mentoring would be much appreciated.

I've purchased Systematic Mixing Guide and followed some of it's points, but not all of them are applicable to my source material.
Here's the what I've done yesterday evening (it's really quiet and has no vocals for now):
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/107089785/ftl_1.mp3

After the nights rest I already hear a lot of problems, like the kick thump being lost, snare being really loud and lacking hi-end snap and the guitars having some low-mid mud.

So you are welcome to bash the mix and give any advice on how to improve the situation.

FILES:
Raw tracks:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/107089785/01-follow_the_lights.rar
Latest mix:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/107089785/ftl_30.mp3

good start man your mixes can only get better from here

The term proper ,remove it from your vocabulary with audio
no mix & master will ever be or ever has been perfect
if anyone ever says "it perfect " there fulla shit - Period

Keep moving forward good work

S1770