Nuendo 3 VS Cubase 4/5

Tesseract

Dec 2, 2003
Milton Keynes UK
Visit site
OK I've been using Nuendo 3 for a good 3-5 years now i reckon. I'm fed up with it because when ever i import drums that have been recorded in pro tools...i have to bring their volumes down by a good 6/10db as the master is clipping at around 3 to 5 db. In pro tools they'd be at -5db or so.

I just tried out Cubase 4 (cracked & unstable) out of interest. Imported the same drums. BAM master isn't clipping. The headroom or whatever is much better. The default EQs are cleaner....and everything is just popping out a little more without the master clippping...and im mixing in exactly the same way. The toms are THERE now instead of in the background. I dunno if they messed with the summing part of it? Anyway im quite impressed - though i guesss nuendo/cubase 3 is ancient now.

Anyway...i'm 99% sure im gonna order Cubase 4/5 tonight. I do want to go Pro Tools but thats gonna have to wait. Plus i want a Neve summing mixer dam it.

I've heard Cubase 4 is pretty dam buggy...anyone know how cubase 5 compares?

HEADROOM!

4 isn't nearly as buggy now, haha, it's been updated and I haven't had issues with mine yet from day 1.

Maybe it has to do with a setting in Nuendo when you import audio? That's very strange as Cubase is nothing more than Nuendo sans a few features. Maybe try putting Nuendo's settings to default and trashing the prefs folder (if on a mac) or just re-installing altogether?

I would say if you buy today, go with 4. It has been out long enough for fixes and updates, 5 is still getting bug reports coming in. You can always upgrade for like a small price later on once they get 5 straightened out.

My .02 cents

~006

Yeah its something i've noticed quite a bit recently. Nothing to do with pan law - though that can affect it. I imported the same drums into logic 8 and noticed the same thing. The drums were clipping in the master bus....but wernt in PT.