Ohm's and tone

TomiR

Lord Ejaculation
Jun 25, 2006
Finland
So here's my problem, I am going to buy an 16ohm Orange 4X12" cabinet, but my Single Recto only has two 4ohm and one 8ohm speaker outputs.

Well, the Recto's owner's manual says, that using cabs with bigger impedance ratings will not hurt the amp at all, but using cab's with smaller ratings will wear out the power tubes faster.

So according to the manual, I could just use the amp's 8ohm output to the 16ohm cab with no worries.

But, some people say that this will affect the tone of the amp? Any experiences?

i have no experience, but if you can get inside the cab, it should be easy to rewire it to give you the rating you want.

Yeah, the cab has four 16ohm speakers, so I could always wire it in parallel to turn it into a 4ohm cab.

I hope it has connectors, so I don't have to solder a brand new cab. I have done it many times with guitars though.

But well, I don't even have one yet :lol:

4*12 cabs have a series/parallel connection...so if you try to rewire you haven't different rating.
If you connect a 16ohm cab to an amp with 8ohm/4ohm selected, the pressure of the cab will be divided by 2/more. You don't broke anything but it doesn't sound like 8ohm/8ohm or 16/16..
Solution? Replace every speaker of the orange cab or...buy different cab..

4*12 cabs have a series/parallel connection...so if you try to rewire you haven't different rating.
If you connect a 16ohm cab to an amp with 8ohm/4ohm selected, the pressure of the cab will be divided by 2/more. You don't broke anything but it doesn't sound like 8ohm/8ohm or 16/16..
Solution? Replace every speaker of the orange cab or...buy different cab..

If you wire four 16ohm speakers in parallel, you get 4ohms. Yes, the cabinet is originally serie/parallel, but it can be wired into a 4ohm one like this:

4x12wiring1.gif

But maybe getting a different cab is not a bad idea... Too bad the Mesa cabs are like 1400€ in here.