Opeth albums?

TheSeldomlaid

Waffle Wizard
Aug 20, 2003
Beyond stupidity
shadegrown.deviantart.com
Well, I have to admit I'm kinda new to Opeth. I watched them at the Inferno Festival this year, and I must say I was impressed, especially becuase of Michael's voice. I must admit I was headbanging when they played Demon of the Fall. But, my point. I'm currently concidering getting one of their albums. Which album should I get, and most importantly: why?

Another week, another "which album should I get" topic...

You'll have one group of people telling you that Orchid and Morningrise (their first albums) are the best and you should get them. I don't really agree cos they aren't as easy to get into at all...

Another group will go for My Arms, Your Hearse (Demon Of The Fall is on this one) and Still Life. Both are great albums but the easiest to get into first are...

The third group, the recent albums (Blackwater Park, Deliverance and Damnation). They're all fairly easy to get into and amazing albums (each Opeth album is amazing though - that point can't be stressed enough).

I think you should get Blackwater Park - it's by far their most popular and accessible album. It also seems to be what most Opeth fans heard first that got them into the band. Everyone will tell you something different though, but you really can't go wrong with BWP.

I barely listen to Blackwater Park, don't really know why. I'd say go with My Arms, You hearse though... if you liked demon, you'll like april ethereal and when :)

Strangly enough BWP was the hardest Opeth album for me to get into, while I loved Morningrise from the 1st listen.

As for first album, Id say go with Still Life as its accessable, but very creative, exciting and diverse. Pluse it has great lyrics.

If you like Demon of the Fall you shouldn't have any problems getting into My Arms Your Hearse, so get that one first. Best albums are in order:

Orchid
Morningrise
My Arms, Your Hearse
Blackwater Park
Still Life
Damnation