Opeth guitar book + piano notation/tabs

Hemlok

New Metal Member
Jun 23, 2008
As an aspiring guitarist I've been thinking about buying the Hal Leonard "Best of Opeth" guitar book. I was just wondering if you guys know if it's any good? Is it better than the tabs on the internet or just a cash in?

Also, my mate and I are playing "To Rid the Disease" for our GCSE music coursework. I have the guitar part covered, but we can't find the piano notation. Much of the piano plays the same melodies as the guitar, but apart from those bits we're not too sure. Does anyone know where we can find the music?

First post :cool:

Hemlok

The 'best of' TAB-book is full of win, even though it hasn't all the best songs...or, what the heck, I believeI just want tabs for all Opeth-songs!:loco::loco:

Hemlok, yes the Hal Leonard book is about 95% accurate. On Demon of the Fall, they say that another guitar is in Open D-Major D, A, D, G, A, D...just ignore it. But aside from that, the book is very accurate.

Since powertabs.net shut down, it's more difficult to come across quality Opeth tabs, and for as many good ones there are on ultimate-guitar.com, there are just as many or even more horrible ones. I'd say if it's not too expensive, go for it.

Complete Songlist:

Bleak
Closure
Deliverance
Demon Of The Fall
Ghost Of Perdition
Godhead's Lament
Master's Apprentices
Moonlapse Vertigo
The Drapery Falls
The Grand Conjuration
To Bid You Farewell
Windowpane

Ok. This is an incredible selection of songs. Moonlapse Vertigo? Godhead's Lament? I had to play those songs by ear because the tabs were so bad. Definitely getting this.

If you'd like I could write out what the piano plays as a pdf and send it to you. Just gotta do it tomorrow though, 1 in the morning here!

Thanks for all the advice everyone

I think I will buy the book because it has notation, which I find easier to read.

Thanks for the offer Narek, but the piano part is transcribed to guitar on the tab site Dante's Inferno gave me.