profire 610 vs FF400 for semi-pro user

Fragle

Jul 27, 2005
Germany
hey there,

i'm about to finally upgrade to a firewire interface (using m-audio audiophile 2496 as if right now :( ).

the thing is, i'm not a pro by any means....i never record drums (lack of space), just vox, bass and guitars....i'm mainly doing local band demo's as of right now, but i'm also going to record all but the drums for my own bands upcoming full length (hence the upgrade).
judging by that, the profire 610 has everything i need...2 mic preamps which are apparently decent, maybe even better than the FF400 ones, DI in's, enough outputs for reamping and the likes...however, the lack of future upgrade ability (mostly no adat i/o) kinda scares me...who know's if ill be recording drums anytime in the future.
also, the FF400 converters are said to be miles beyond the profire ones, plus giving me enough options for possible future upgrades.
so, what do you guys think, should i go with the profire 610 (350 euro) which is sufficient as far as features go right now, or should i shell out the extra $$ for the FF400 (i'd go used (ebay), so think around 600 euro maybe)....also keep in mind that i'll be recording a full length album later this year, and i'm not quite sure if the profire's quality would be up for that.
on the other hand, the FF400 preamps are said to be nothing spectacular, esp compared to an API512 or the likes....so maybe getting the profire and one of there later on would give me better quality results (if it wasn't for the RME's superior converter quality, that is).

i'm really not sure where to go right now, as it's also difficult to demo any of these devices....so, any input will be greatly appreciated.