Proper Picking Technique

Pita Bread

Obscurity
Nov 28, 2003
Moorpark, CA
Ok well, I've been playing for 3 years and I'm still not sure what the "proper" way to hold a guitar pick is. Are you supposed to angle it down? up? I've seen pictures of Mike Amott playing and I think I hold it the same way as he does, but then from the pictures of Chris Amott and Alexi Laiho, they seem to be pointing the pick downwards... Can someone please give me advice and post pictures for proper picking technique?

I've just grown extremely frustrated with my progress on guitar... I can play fast but it's just not as fast or precise as I would like to be playing... and I just don't know what's wrong...

You can hold a pick any way you want to, it's all a matter of preference. I used to try different techniques where I'd copy my fave players hand position and such. Now when I play, I find my hand moving into different shapes to accompany the style of riff I happen to be playing at the moment. As long as it's comfortable and works with the passage you're playing it's all good. Try a few different ones and intermix them within a song.
It's all about finding your groove, man. :p

Thanks guys for the friendly words of advice, I really appreciate it.

However, I'm kinda worried about this.

http://www.midnightdruggist.com/homework3.htm