Improper picking technique?

Elimist

Lazy Guitarist
Dec 30, 2007
Everett, WA
I'm running into a problem lately. My picking hand is getting progressively more fucked up... my wrist is, I should say.
I'm an entirely self-taught guitarist, so if I'm doing something wrong with my technique I wouldn't know about it. Another guitarist friend of mine was saying that there is a wrong way to pick, and that Alexi Laiho had to stop playing guitar for a while and practically relearn the instrument--I don't know whether or not that's true, but it's something I bear in mind.

As I'm saying though... my right-hand wrist has been feeling more and more fucked up during the past few months, and I've been playing for close to three years. It's particularly bothering me this morning, hence prompting this post.

Has anybody else ever ran into any arthritic problems as a guitarist? What have you done to fix it?
What kind of stretching should I be doing? Warm-ups? etc.

it would be helpful to know how you're picking...grip, technique, etc...

anyhow...I've never had those problems.

I hold the pick like anyone else... between my thumb and the side of my pointer finger.
When I'm picking my wrist does all the work.