PT - Making MIDI instruments sound more real?

JayB

Oct 10, 2009
open.spotify.com
I'm pretty new to MIDI , but I've written a pretty cool intro to a song that will be done with some PT Xpand 2 Strings , and maybe some Xpand steel guitar. Just wondering how the pros go about making these instruments sound realistic. Firstly , is there a "humanize" button somewhere in PT or Xpand? The only way I saw to change the velocity of hits was manually , for every single note , which would be pretty time consuming. Also , is there some sort of humanize to make the notes a little looser , as real strings would not sound so "on the grid" and robotic? Any help on the subject would be appreciated. I know Joey is awesome with MIDI instruments , I've heard some great examples on his albums.

I'm pretty new to MIDI , but I've written a pretty cool intro to a song that will be done with some PT Xpand 2 Strings , and maybe some Xpand steel guitar. Just wondering how the pros go about making these instruments sound realistic. Firstly , is there a "humanize" button somewhere in PT or Xpand? The only way I saw to change the velocity of hits was manually , for every single note , which would be pretty time consuming. Also , is there some sort of humanize to make the notes a little looser , as real strings would not sound so "on the grid" and robotic? Any help on the subject would be appreciated. I know Joey is awesome with MIDI instruments , I've heard some great examples on his albums.

Sorrry for lack of info on this but, use cubase.

I've been working on a prada project lately, and we got to keys (all of this was in pt mind you) and productivity came to a halt. We had crashes after crashes, had to rebuild projects from the ground up, corrupted sessions, instruments causing other parts of the session to become inaudible or corrupted, midi performances off time and delay compensation screwing up.