Push me in the right direction, getting started

MarwanBaki

New Metal Member
May 24, 2010
Guys, ill make this short.

First off hi, hows it going. I was led here by a friend. All i have is an M-Audio Fast Track pro, a Behringer XM8500(microphone) and a Behrginer Vamp 2 amp. Pretty crappy i know.
I just want to record guitars, i've figured how to set good drum and bass VSTS that sound good. But i can't make the guitars sound good.

I've tried VST amp simulations as i DI my instrument. Also tried micing the amp. I tried everything. Guys i know my gear is crap but im sure i should be able to manage something thats clearly audible. I'm a beginner and i don't know where to start. Where do i go from here, everyone says practice makes perfect. Yeah but how do tiy practice audio engineering. I really don't know. I don't want to make the NEXT BEST PRODUCED ALBUM either. I want something, that can be enjoyed in the car.

I dunno,,,i really dont know. Sigh.

For curiosity's sake i put a sample. This is the best i could get, I DI the guitar from an amp and after that i added impulses, i don't even know what that is it just makes it sound good. Ha.

http://rapidshare.com/files/394209728/Confess_-_final-temporl.mp3.html

Anyway, help?

I am at the same point. The problem with starting is that I don't even want to ask this question and have 50 people say "use search" (which I do understand, and why I don't post). This is a good forum but most of it is too technical for the people that have no background and have no way to "practice". I am having a LOT of trouble with drums personally and don't even know where to start even with this forum as a reference. It's frustrating to say the least unless you can play all the instruments and practice all day which I cannot.

hopefully you get some good answers though

Both of you, pm me separately with some fairly detailed responses and i'll get back to you.