Question about a Drummer...

Triggers.......actually one of the reasons he wasn't invited to replace Lombardo in Slayer.

HOWEVER, just because he uses triggers, does not mean that the guy is not a badass. He is. Just that the precision is not exactly all his doing......

I'm FAR from an expert when it comes to drums but I'd say Herrera uses something else to make his bass drum so fast. It doesn't seem humanly possible to play that fast without some kind of mechanical and/or electronic help.

He sure uses triggers. But believe me as a drummer. The triggers can't do anything with the speed you play. Neither can electronic drumpads. They can only "compress" your play, so that every single hit sounds exactly the same, and the sound is, like, coloured a little (it actually depends on how you "set" the trigger). For example, if you use trashcan instead of your snare (where have I seen that??) and put a trigger on it, you can choose the sound which you like (e.g. trashcan :)) and it doesn't really matter what you beat, actually. I personally think much of Herrera's studio play is more of a pro-tools thing (Digimortal drums sound very dynamically equal, robotish), but he DOES play that stuff live. And not only did I see Fear Factory live 3 times, I was at their soundcheck, as well. And I still think there are drummers who can play double bass even faster.

Well it's kinda like... you understand how guitar pickups work? That's exactly the same. You put a small device "trigger" on a drum head, and it "broadcast" your hits into another sound device, so you can elaborate with the sound of your drums.