Question about bass playing

IcedEarth_811

New Metal Member
Feb 13, 2002
Visit site
im a self taught guitar and bass player been playing for sometime and I have recently been recruited to play bass in a band with some friends. I Am dumb when it comes to music theory i havent picked it up yet. If i Was to learn theory would it help me Be a beter bass player?

Mostly what I do [although Im not a bass player] is just listen to a LOT of music, especially the more technical stuff. You can kinda pick shit up from that if you have a good enough ear. I mean, it's not everything, but it could help.

J

You can never learn enough!!!! :)

If your playing is doing well without knowing theory, go ahead and relax. But learning a bit of theory is always helpful in the idea that you can see the freetboard in a new a diffrent way.

But in my honest opinion....a good bass player doesn't follow the guitars (not to often anyway!:D ) try and feel the drums and follow them...your just as much the rhythm section as he/she is!
and remeber to stay in key, and not go overboard trying to do something your not capable of executing right off hand, you'll do awsome!

Steve, If your out there...got any advice?

reorting live from Salt Lake City
Dustin

Originally posted by IcedEarth_811
If i Was to learn theory would it help me Be a beter bass player?

Yes. A better all-around musician. Is it totally necessary to know? No.
Music comes from within, theory comes from outside sources. You can be an awesome musician, bass player, whatever, without knowing theory, if you have the desire. But everything you learn will help you in one way or another. You shouldn't be intimidated by theory, it seems overwhelming. But you can pick what you need out of it to use in your own musical experiences.