Question about the stream

GaryGnu

New Metal Member
Jan 20, 2005
I am relatively new to internet radio. There is more to this than I thought. I have noticed that to good get sound, I've needed to get a station that broadcasts 128kbps. On live365.com, progged radio is listed at 64kbps, but I've seen some other info that leads me to believe if I become a member, that will improve? What's the deal?

Gary (clueless)

The bit rate is going to vary by station. This station (Progged) broadcasts at 64kb, but you will get better sound if your player supports MP3 Pro, such as Quintessential player. You can enable the MP3 pro setting in the preferences under 'plug-ins'.

Pinkeisch said:
The bit rate is going to vary by station. This station (Progged) broadcasts at 64kb, but you will get better sound if your player supports MP3 Pro, such as Quintessential player. You can enable the MP3 pro setting in the preferences under 'plug-ins'.

At the moment, I am listening through iTunes. Does this support MP3 Pro? I don't see a way to enable it.

Gary

No, currently itunes does not support mp3pro, and no the quality of the broadcast will not improve by subscribing to L365. As the Pink one mentioned, you need to download a mp3pro capable player to hear the better quality broadcast. The cool thing about mp3pro, is that it will downgrade itself to standard mp3 if the user does not have a capable player. I would suggest downloading quentessential (my player for years now) and try tuning in, then judge for yourself.

Gary,
Just note Quentessential only works on PC, not in MAC, if you are a Mac user like me (or like a lot of proggers dessigners, hehehe) you must keep on ITunes...

Progged said: