question for trav (or other atrisits) re: maintaing a theme

davidian68

New Metal Member
May 21, 2002
Visit site
just a quick question regarding maintaing a theme in your work....

for example the 'forgiving eden' works,
is each idividual poiece taken from a larger work? or are the done seperately.

as an artist myself i find it hard to maintain a them, and a feel to a work, if there are to be multiple instances of it, for example a CD (the cover, back cover, inlay card, pages of the booklet etc)

ive noticed that sometimes trav doesnt stick to the same theme ie Sadus : elements of anger. but other times all the art seems to be related in some way.

it would seem to me the easiest way would be to create a larger work, then divide it up, using the most 'confronting' or attention grabbing segment for the cover... then assigning the rest of the segments their respective roles, such as back cover, inlay etc.

sometimes it feels as though we are being tricked into believe that there is an underlying theme running through 'connected' works, yet all that is really similar is the use of colour and texture... is this how you maintain the theme???

hope my question makes sense as it was pretty hard to word, yet its something that has intrigued me for a while.

thanks
D A V I D I A N

ps do you get to listen to the music or skim through the lyrics before attempting the art? it would seem impossible to me to come up with approriate art unless i had heard what it will be used on.

sometimes i get to hear it beforehand, and sometimes i don't.
i think in the last year the only project i got to hear the music for BEFORE
the art, was Terria.

For themes, i'll go with your example. forgiving eden is all about one theme.
so i thoguth of a few different ways to imply that theme and created a few of them.
each piece is it's own and not a part of a larger whole.

Usually in every project i think of multiple ways to tell a story, so it's good when there is a main