Rate my first vocal fry practise :)

Erkan

mr-walker.bandcamp
Jun 16, 2008
Uppsala, Sweden
mr-walker.bandcamp.com
Dudes! Today I practised vocal fry screaming for the first time in my life. A few days ago I discovered I could actually pull of something that resembled a scream while I was taking a shower. Then I decided I'd explore my voice and so I did today and here is the result. This is a little bit from a song by Textures and the first scream is obviously both me and that singer but the rest isn't actually there on the original song so I just screamed some random shit, no words, just sounds. The first scream wasn't really good but I think the rest is kind of cool considering it's my first time. I've heard it takes like a year to get a grip on this vocal fry screaming but damn, at this rate, I think I'll become quite good :) Have a listen!

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/585020/Fry.mp3

I don't know what the hell that little "yell" in the middle before the screams is but it was fun haha.

Vocal fry screaming is so cool because very small "movements" in your mouth and throat have a huge impact on the sound so I have a hard time controlling the screams to come out the way I want but that's what practise is for. And my throat feels totally ok after the practise so I guess I'm not doing it wrong, weehoo.

Edit: Practise #3

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/585020/Fry2.mp3

Sounds good for just starting out. Get rid of the constipation sound and it will sound great. Now you can finish your album!!! And it will be YOURS.

Haha, yeah I think the "conspitation" sound comes from like... I notice my actual voice "gets through" sometimes, mostly on the beginning and end of each scream. That sort of makes it sound like you're taking a shit. Good thing is that I was constantly aware of those because I don't like how they sound one bit so I think I will be working a lot on removing those and making the scream more "instant".