Re-amp Noise

UrzaJN

New Metal Member
Dec 16, 2009
So I'm completely new to re-amping, and pretty much recording in general. I'm getting ready to try re-amping for the first time and I set everything up today just to give it a whack.

Here's what I have set up: Guitar DI track in reaper set to send out of a line out of my interface [Firebox] > TS9 > NS 2 > 6505 + Cab > SM 57 > Mic pre on the interface. I arm a track and record from the mic.

The problem I am getting is that there is a ton of noise being created in the process that the NS 2 is not able to cut out. It seems like the interface is making the noise. I would just go through and slice out parts that are just noise but I feel like you can partially here the hum even over guitar parts; which is my concern. :mad:

Here's a quad track of hum if it helps. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/6383629/Reamp.mp3

Why not use NS2 before TS9?
But noise it`s not unusual situation with ghetto-reamping (straight from interface), in some cases it works, in other there can be noise.
Noise can be even worse than in sample.

Is the head and the computer in the same electricity? If not, it can create ground trouble, which can introduce all kinds of nasty hiss and noise.

1) Make sure the head and the computer are in the same electricity circuit (not sure of the right term in English, bear with me :))
2) If you haven't got a reamp box available, try using a passive DI box the "wrong" way around after the interface and lifting the ground.

The noise comes from a lack of a reamp box. If the amp and interface are on the same circuit you will have a ground which means the amp need to be coupled from the interface. Only way to do that is by getting a reamp device.

The noise comes from a lack of a reamp box. If the amp and interface are on the same circuit you will have a ground which means the amp need to be coupled from the interface. Only way to do that is by getting a reamp device.