Received new pair of Event Opals, Question

MetalWorks

Apr 19, 2007
Sacramento, CA
www.myspace.com
Just received my new Event Opals from Sweetwater this evening. I know there's a few owners on here so I am hoping for some feedback from those who have experiences using them.

Let me start out by saying I have been using Mackie HR824's for about 10 years now. I didn't know any different or any better at that. They did sound really nice listening to Professional Albums. They fooled me a number of times with my own mixes until the next day when my ears were fresh or they simply wouldn't translate well.

After 10 years there are now plenty of forum reviews and opinions basically saying they are great speakers for hearing music but they are too hyped for mixing. After setting the Event Opals next to them and doing an A/B comparison I am seeming a big difference between the two.

First off, the Mackie have way more low end and a muddy closed mid range. Also dull on the highs. They sound swollen which is the first thought that comes to mind. Because of these emphasized frequencies it seems louder than the Opal at the same volume knob settings. They also start clipping because of the lows at higher volumes.

The Opals sound very Flat or even across all frequencies. Super clear. I definately hear much more detail and depth. I feel the honesty in them.

I have only speant maybe an hour tops listening to some old mixes, a current mix and a few Mp3s from some pro recordings so I still have quite a bit of time to go learning them and forgetting my Mackies but I have a question about the low end.

I was expecting the Opals to be a bit more punchier than they are. As I stated the Mackies have more low end. The Opals are just super even sounding. I guess I really expected to feel them more, especially when you crank them.