Recording Beginner - What's Possible?

Thomadin

New Metal Member
Jul 19, 2010
Well, the title might be a little irritating:
I am a guitarist and I am trying to get into recording my own stuff.

I read a lot of threads here in the last few days and got the impression that if someone doesn't have good mics or good amps etc. using software plugins and DI tracks is the way to go.
(Please correct me if that is a wrong impression ;-))

As my budget is very limited, the equipment I am able to use is as following:
Line6 POD X3 (I mainly use this one for the different tones and sounds)
BOSS RC-50 Loop Machine (I use this one to record my tracks and transfer it to my PC via USB afterwards, and for practice purposes obviously.)
VOX AD30VTXL amp(Mostly used for the amplification, sound comes from POD)

I have the following questions regarding my equipment:
What would be the "best" way to record some Metalcore/Melodic Death Metal stuff? Recording via the POD directly using some presets I made?
Or trying to record a DI track and manipulating that with software plugins?

I maybe should also mention that most of my stuff I record are in Drop D and my guitar is a Epiphone ES335 dot Studio (yeah, I know, not the best guitar to record metal ;))

Also, excuse me if this is the wrong section to post this in ;)

I hope to get some responses to improve my technique :)
Greetings, Thomadin

Okay, thats good to know :)

I have another question then:
Is it possible to record the dry guitar signal with the POD or the Boss rc-50?
Or do I have to buy a DI-Box?

Real good quality amps + proper micing technique = best.
Good DI box + Amp sims = second best.
Bad quality real amps + bad micing = worst.

Yes it is possible to record a dry signal with POD, but a good DI box and interface will be better.

Oh ! And welcome to the best forum on the internet ! :)

Yes it is possible to record a dry signal with POD, but a good DI box and interface will be better.