POD + Apogee Duet for Guitar recording??

Nov 6, 2002
Ireland
Visit site
Hi guys,

I've been reading a lot in the past few months, and have eventually decided to go with a MacBook pro + Logic 8 + Apogee duet to record a demo CD for my band. I was looking into the Mbox2 and Pro Tools (initially with a PC, then Mac), and some other interfaces, but it looks like Logic/Mac is the best choice, and most hassle free drivers and reliability.

The thing is, for my bands last demo I used my POD 2.0 ( Line 6 :: Products ) to record all the electric guitar parts, and they came out quite well (needed to play around with it a bit). I mostly use a crunchy Metal riffing sound, similar to bands like Sonata Arctica, Rhapsody, Iced Earth, Helloween.

I'm wondering if I'll be able to use the POD 2.0 with the Duet, and will it improve the sound quality, as compared to using it on my old PC with a Soundblaster Live! card (using the line-in)? Do you know how I can go about using it?

I'm still new to all this, but want to be sure I'm making the right choices for guitar recording. I've also read stuff about GT3, and it looks good, but I'm already over my budget with all the other s/w and h/w, so I will use the POD if I can... :)

Many thanks for any advice

PS.Regarding the POD output, just found the following info in my POD manual:

Left & Right Output - These are balanced 1/4" TRS connectors, and ready to rock with pro +4 dBu balanced equipment. They will also work happily with unbalanced -10 dBV equipment and standard guitar cables. If you are running POD mono, use the Left output.