Recording Equipment - Need Some Serious HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

The Don

Oct 29, 2004
Evergreen, Colorado USA
OK guys. I've got about a $500 budget and I want to get recording equipment that will WORK well, get good sound, and be easy to use. I've been using the M-Audio FastTrack USB for a few years and shit has finally hit the fan. Something inside the little box broke, so now all I get is fuzz. Me and my friend who I make music with have dicked around with cheap $100-150 plugs, boxes, etc, and it's getting really old. We've tried going digital, but there is too much lag from playing to hearing it on the comp. We were using a microphone on the M-Audio box, which gave decent sound and was pretty easy to use.

So my question is: What products should I be purchasing if I want to get a decent sound? What type of mics work the best for recording really crunchy amp sounds? Is there one product that stands out above the rest? I've been playing for about 4 years and we are getting serious about putting out a demo and jumpstarting playing, we just have had trouble in the past getting songs down that don't sound like Darkthrone recorded it (shit production).

I know there are plenty of guitarists on the forum, so help me out!

hey man, well i record with a Lexicon Omega Recording Studio, which comes with the software Cubase LE, and i have a Line 6 PODXT guitar effects processor. To be honest, the Lexicon is kind of complicated and i wouldnt recommend you buying it. The buffer settings are really inconsistent. But i definitely recommend the PODXT! Its awesome! I dont know much about mics considering i record guitar tracks with the pod.