Recording Rock Vocals

ScottCash

Huge Member
Aug 29, 2006
Hey guys. I am trying to record some standard rock vocals similar to Alice in Chains, Black Label Society, Shinedown. I am still a noob at recording and have issues getting a vocal recording I like. I have a Shure KSM27 going into a Behringer Ultra Voice Pro Pre-amp, into Nuendo. I have read quite a few posts on vocal recording and yet mine are not even close to some I've heard on here so I'm getting back to the basics. Here is what I know....

1. Record the original tracks with very little compression
2. Steady the vocalists distance from the mic
3. Add a little chorus when mixing
4. The room can kill or make your track

That's about it. Am I missing something? Do you guys use the -15db pad on the mic? Should this style be recorded with a dynamic mic instead of a condensor? One of the big issues I have is that without using a ton of compression when recording, the track is way too quite or clips like crazy. Is there a magical piece of software/hardware I am missing? arg....help. Thanks-

I'd say the KSM27 and Behringer Pre are what's killing it.. unless it's the vocalists technique/voice.

The mic and pre are so damn important when it comes to vocals.

I just did a session where I ran a Neumann U89 into an Avalon AD2022 which then ran into a Distressor on Dist 2 mode (tube emulation). Beautiful.

There's really no substitute for fantastic gear when it comes to vocals... it's such a simple process, and reliant upon the basics more than most.

you should be able to get decent results with that mic. the pre is a different story.

i just had a session where we ran an sm7b into a SSL9000j desk pre amp, and it's sounded amazing. we tried all kinds of styles and it was terrific, although it needed a ton of gain.