replacing strings on a floyd rose

metalbeard

Nov 20, 2007
I've only been playing guitar for a few weeks and I'm a total novice, so apologies for the noobness.

So I got my new heavy slinky strings today (11-54), I got them because my old ones were too light to play drop c. Anyway after replacing the strings and tuning to CGCFAD, I've noticed the saddle bit is facing upwards way more than it used to, so much so that I can fit the side of my hand beneath it. As a result the strings are much further away from the frets than they were in standard tuning. This has got me thinking that I've actually tuned them UP rather than down. But I'm sure that's not the case because I tuned them down to the same notes to check and the strings were way too loose... So if that's the case then going back to my original point why does the saddle bit face upwards with so much tension on the strings?

Because the springs in the back of the guitar are exerting MUCH less force than the strings on the front.

Take it to a tech or an experienced guitar friend whom you trust, and have them do it. If at all possible, watch what they do and have them teach you. That's the best thing for you to do.

It's perfectly normal, its how the Floyd Rose works.

What you need to do is take the back plate off the guitar, and there will be some springs connected to a block and a claw. The block is called the tremolo block, and the claw is called the spring claw. There will be two screws going from the claw into the guitar. These are used to tighten or loosen the springs. Tighten the springs two full turns, then retune the guitar to pitch. If the base plate of the bridge is not level with the strings, then you need to keep adjusting the springs until it is.