Retarded preamp questions..

Backe

Space Cowboy
Mar 7, 2010
Borlänge, Sweden
How do you hook-up an external preamp properly?

I'm a bit ashamed. I've been doing this (100% ITB) for a couple of years now, but only used very basic hardware. I'm planning on opening my own studio pretty soon, something basic Foundation-esque and I'm thinking of getting some cool preamps to play with, mainly for drums and vocals. Because I might have a budget for that. So if you buy let's say a pretty expensive and professional stereo mic pre (API, Neve, UA, w/e), what is the best way to hook it up? I'm a Cubase guy, tried PT but it just wasn't my thing. So I was thinking about these new Steinberg MR816's firewire 8ch's, tried two of those daisy-chained a couple of weeks ago with pretty sweet results. But could I use an external mic pre with these? The idea I've gotten is that you simply plug it in before the soundcard, the preamp boosts the signal up to level instead of the stock pre, hence yielding a cleaner result in terms of signal. Am I totally on the wrong path here? Because my second thought is "a chain is only as strong as it's weakest link", so that putting an external mic pre before the stock pre would just cause the stock pre to "muddy up" the signal again. And would preamps be worth the money and would it pay off in my productions?

Answers (and advice on pre's!) are greatly appreciated! Thanks

Normally if you get higher quality preamps, you bypass the interface's pres - for example by going into the line level input on the fireface.
Two preamps in a row seem strange to me, and it's likely to distort even if you don't add any gain on the second preamp (because even "0" does add gain).
Your interface has ADAT, you can get an (8 channel) ADAT converter to hook the new preamps up. That way you could use better conversion but it's not very cheap.