RME Multiface - PCI vrs PCI-E

[UEAK]Clowd

Apr 29, 2008
I can get a killer deal on a Multiface, but it comes with the PCI card, not the PCI-E.

what kind of performance loss could I expect with this vrs the PCI-E?

PCIexpress has a higher bandwidth allocation, that might impact on your latency (ever so slightly) for the better, other than that the difference should really be negligible.

I have been using the Multiface I with the PCI card for many years and it runs rock solid. Didn't feel any need to upgrade yet.

hmm. I monitor through cubase anyway so I don't really need the totalmix thing...

I guess I should just jump on this, then? I figured the PCI-e was going to be a whole lot better.

edit: did it. hopefully it works out.

[UEAK]Clowd;9422023 said:
hmm. I monitor through cubase anyway so I don't really need the totalmix thing...

Only change totalmix do comparing to your actual monitoring through cubase is zero latency monitoring.
And you can make various and independant cue mix, route everything where you want...etc.
Great feature, really...

I'm a PCI multiface user's btw... No complain.

Only change totalmix do comparing to your actual monitoring through cubase is zero latency monitoring.
And you can make various and independant cue mix, route everything where you want...etc.
Great feature, really...

I'm a PCI multiface user's btw... No complain.

+1
I've struggled a little bit at first but now it's just awesome.

i have a PCI multiface and it can also go down to 32
on some driver versions the lowest was 64 though

hmm. it seems weird - the pci-e card is like $500... why would anyone do that if the PCI version works just as well??

+1
I've struggled a little bit at first but now it's just awesome.