Rob Van Der Loo Quits Sun Caged

Sun Caged

official announcements
Aug 14, 2002
The Netherlands
www.suncaged.com
After almost 7 years of being a member of Sun Caged bass player Rob Van Der Loo decided to leave Sun Caged. Read his official statement below. Of course we regret his decision, but despite that we respect his reasons. Rob is going into a totally new musical direction, and he was not happy anymore playing the music of Sun Caged. Rob will stay close to the band, regarding the friendship we have with him, and we truly wish him the best in his musical career and his new direction.

Here his statement:

"I've been a member of Sun Caged for almost seven years which is quite a while.
Playing in Sun Caged convinced me that I wanted to be a full-time professional musician.
But seven years is quite a long time and in this period a lot of things like personal interests and musical taste can change . As a musician I need to be challenged and through the last 18 months I started to realise that Sun Caged wasn't longer the challenge for which I was looking.
When I'm a member of a band I need to support the music for 200% and not for 100% or less.
Making decisions like this can be very hard but I took a lot of time to think about it and I'm sure that this is the right choice for as well me as the band. The fact that I'm leaving the band doesn't mean that it's the end of my musical career. In fact I think it will give me much more new fresh ideas and possibilities to work on. And there's always a big chance that we will work together again in the near future.
I would like to thank all the (ex-)Sun Caged members for the awesome years we've played together and for their friendship. Of course I'd also like to thank all the Sun Caged fans all over the world for the their great support; you guys rule! And last but not least I wish the band good luck with the upcoming line-up and the new album.

All the best,

Rob"