Rough mix of a hard rock band I'm currently producing.

Jordon

Sep 14, 2008
Chicago
Here's a rough mix of a band I'm currently producing. Finishing up vocals this Thursday. Drums are 100% real with the kick, snare and toms stacked (not totally replaced). Kick was stacked with some samples I've taken from kits I've recorded. Snare was I think 12A from Slate, toms were stacked with the fat toms. This is my first time working with Slate samples (found the studio's copies laying around in a CD case), and I gotta say, I see what all the hype is about. The toms samples made the kit especially lively.

I contributed some guitar parts in the choruses and bridge, and will more than likely lend my voice for harmonies and backing vocals.

Vocals need some de-essing, but that'll be taken care of when we finish them up.

It's and mp3 and also has a bullshit master on it, so keep that in mind.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3463841/old%20one%20rough.MP3

I'll have pictures of the miced up kit and more details about the recording later on.

Also...SoundToys Echo Boy and Crystallizer are like crack to me now. Echo boy is amazing on vocals.

First off, overheads sound amazingly clear. What mics did you use on them, and what was the room like?

On the mix, waaaaay too much bass. Vocals are a bit thin, and snare is too soft/muffled. Has great potential tho, I dig the guitar tone.

You may want to edit a bit, like in the verse, everythings a bit messy. BUT it works with a mix like this though, kinda dirty and big, and I'd keep it like it is if you're not cleaning up the mix too much.

First off, overheads sound amazingly clear. What mics did you use on them, and what was the room like?

On the mix, waaaaay too much bass. Vocals are a bit thin, and snare is too soft/muffled. Has great potential tho, I dig the guitar tone.