School me in metal.

LogicPhase

New Metal Member
Sep 22, 2015
Hello Ultimate Metal.

I wasn't sure if I should post this topic here, as reading the guidelines suggests the "recommendations thread" might be appropriate. However, clicking on the link pulls up a nonexistent thread.

So I'll post here, and trust in the Mods that be to properly locate my post. (Or remove it if it's not interesting enough)

I'm new to the Heavy Metal genre, having listened to pop most of my life. For some reason I randomly found a few songs on youtube and it struck a chord with me. A deep one. But these are modern bands, one was called Mastadon and the other Symphony X.

I'd like to get an education in heavy metal in it's purest form. I know nothing about the history of it, or the bands that defined it.

Certainly I could scour the Google and perhaps find an article or two, but I'd rather get guidance from people I can interact with, so I can ask questions. Etc.

I'm asking the diehard fans who thoroughly know the history and the roots of Metal, for recommendations on what bands/albums to listen to, in order to get a solid foundation to gain a deep insight into the roots and evolution of this highly technical form of music.

Start me at the beginning, the prototype bands. The ones that were playing Metal before it was so Named. Then I'd like to get into the best there was of the classics, in what I assume would be Classic Metal.

I'm easy going so if there is a recommended chronology in which to begin my listening education, I'd appreciate it. If you don't have that much time or interest on your hands, I'll gladly accept a quick list of who I should dive into to begin my journey.

Sorry for the long post, but I feel the expanded explanation might be helpful in getting the guidance I need.

Thanks!