Science, Logical Positivism, and Metaphysics

Justin S.

Sep 3, 2004
Chicago, IL
For my Philosophy of Science course, I wrote a paper concerned with these broad themes. I thought its general attitute and findings might be interesting to you all:

On Logical Positivism's Relationship to Metaphysics

(Here is the yousendit link for those that cant download it above) Alternate link

Please keep in mind that this paper is far from exhaustive, and examines "in depth" only two authors' positions. Also, I am currently studying under a rigidly analytic department, and I have to be careful with what I write- this paper is certainly at the limit (even though it strikes me as somewhat obvious). Nevertheless, its broader themes are still very important questions that are too often ignored and dismissed by those that do not like what they find therein.

I know we have other philosophy students on the board, from both "traditions", and I am eager to hear what you think of it. Also, I am highly curious as to how it reads to those who dont explicitly "study" philosophy. So I look forward to general thoughts from all who frequent here.

Also, feel free to riff on this in any direction which leads to interesting discussions (I want my paper to be a catalyst, not the focus).

So, what do you think of the metaphysical foundations of anti-metaphysics (and science/logic in general)? ;)

Reactions: speed and Horus
:headbang: I've always wondered what a Justin S. paper would be like. I'll read and perhaps post some thoughts later.

:headbang: I've always wondered what a Justin S. paper would be like. I'll read and perhaps post some thoughts later.

Ive got my red pencil sharpened and ready to go. Even have a backup as I know its Justin. hehe:lol::lol::lol:. Obviously kidding if one cannot figure it out.