Weird Science

Einherjar86

Jan 15, 2008
The Ivory Tower
So, I know there are a few threads dedicated to science, but they're all specifically for debating scientific issues, addressing scientific misconceptions, or addressing specific scientific questions. There isn't really a thread for science per se, or for new developments/discoveries in science.

As many here know... I'm not a scientist. :cool: But as many here also know, I'm obsessed with reading about science and have a particular fascination with unexpected, unsettling, or confusing scientific discoveries. I'll just go ahead and call this "weird science" for the fun of it (and yeah, for the sci-fi angle: https://io9.gizmodo.com/finally-a-novel-about-weird-science-thats-genuinely-w-1528348041)

This thread is intended to share and discuss the incredible, unbelievable, disturbing, confusing, and just fucked up discoveries from the sciences. I realize this topic could fit in the "News" thread or possibly in the "Dakryn" thread, but both of those tend to attract political and philosophical topics, and also tend to invite debate. I think this thread would be best served by keeping debates out of it. If debate does ensue, then I'd ask that those involved move it to another space (for instance, the scientific debate thread started by Cyth way back in the day; the Dakryn thread is also a fitting place to discuss disagreements in methodology, theory, and practice). This doesn't mean that we can't ask each other questions about methodology, theory, and practice in this thread; if you're unclear about how researchers are arriving at their findings, then feel free to say so and ask for more info. All I ask is that argument about methods and theories be moved to other threads.